PDA

View Full Version : Am I doing something wrong as a DM?

Arcane_Snowman
2013-02-11, 10:53 AM
This session, in the skype game that I've been running for several months now, the following happened, be forewarned the subject matter is unpleasant:

Another of the PCs had her son stolen by the Faeries some time ago, and after having cast several scrying spells found out that he was most likely in Arcadia, the Realm of the Faeries. After some other diversions and some hustle and bustle, she finally managed to get the party together and find an entrance into Arcadia. But before they got in, they ran across an old man who told them that they should be careful, for what they wanted might not look like what they looking for.

After a short travel through Arcadia, they ended up at a castle, where a servant greets them as guests and invites them in for the upcoming jousting tournament ("why else would they be there"), when they ask about the character's missing child, they are informed by the servant that he's never seen nor heard of him. Some further sniffing around yields the information that there are several children in the castle, though upon quick investigation the character's child does not turn up amongst them.

Come the jousting tournament, the Lord and Lady of the castle announce that the winner of the tournament will face the Lord of the castle, in a bout to attain his throne. All the boys are attending the tournament dressed up in knightly regalia and ready for combat, the players are invited to join as well though only one actually decides to participate. The combat was vicious, and the players saw that the victors growing in front of their eyes, becoming progressively older as they win more battles.