PDA

View Full Version : Campaign Journal - Dragonlance

Keltaris
2013-02-14, 02:40 PM
A couple of weeks ago I started playing in a Dragonlance campaign and, inspired by Saph, I decided to write a campaign journal. My writing skills can't even begin to compare to Saph's but I'll give it my best.

We used 40PB and reroll HP if the result is below average.

I'll start introducing the party:

3rd level CG Human Rogue 1/Bard 2: My character. I'm usually the one more versed with optimization, but this time I decided not to optimize, so I took Improved Disarm and decided to wield a whip. Skillmonkey and trapfinder.
3rd level NG Minotaur Barbarian: Lion totem for pounce, he aims at Frenzied Berserker.
3rd level Human Ranger: Ranged specialization and Undead as favoured enemy.
3rd level Dwarf Cleric of Paladine: Healbot. Wants to take RSoP.
3rd level Human Druid: Riding Dog animal companion, very fond of the Produce Fire spell.

First Sessions

The adventure starts at a tavern near the High Clerist's Tower, where we reunite after three years of solo adventuring, and basically RP the tale of our backgrounds to each other.

The next day we catch our first plot hook when we hear a Bard singing about some ancient temple in the valley, a temple that we knew nothing about, and that for Dragonlance history reasons, shouldn't be there.

Interested, we ask for more and he tells us that he heard about this place from the ramblings of a drifter named Eldena Firemane, a middle-aged woman he met a couple of weeks ago. He also tells us she was going to Vingaard Keep, so, hungry to know more about the matter, we set out to follow her.

After a couple of days of travel we get our first random encounter.

DM: "Getting close to the source of the noise you notice a set of feral eyes in a bush."
Barbarian: "I charge the bush!"

The Barbarian rolls for concealment, hit and damage and pummels into oblivion the poor Dire Weasel that the DM wanted to run away.