PDA

View Full Version : Introducing players to sandbox games

Greybird
2013-02-15, 01:10 AM
First off, I'm brand new to sandbox GMing. I GMed for years and ran a number of different campaigns, but that was twenty years ago, when railroading was considered normal and was actively taught as an adventure writing technique. I've got some ideas (and have been doing an absurd amount of research), and I'm going to give it a whirl with my upcoming Savage Worlds fantasy campaign. I doubt it will be 100% freeform sandbox, but I want to lean it in that direction.

I've run a couple of one-offs for this same group of people in the past, and while we had fun, they were completely stymied any time there wasn't an obvious 'next step' presented to them. Does anyone have any general recommendations on getting them started on what amounts to a whole new style of play for all of us?

ArcturusV
2013-02-15, 01:16 AM
Well, as silly as it may sound, the most obvious way to do it is to let them know there is a particular place/idea in each town/village/city that can be the "Go to" for an array of missions/rumors.

I mean this is kind of an old DnD idea. Where "Adventure" modules would be written up and include a metric Crap Ton of adventure hooks, quest ideas, local rumors, etc, etc, etc, that were flying around if you went to the local booze dispenser and asked for rumors and such.