PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Mystic Theurge Build Help

Severance28
2013-02-15, 07:06 PM
This is my first time posting, but I was making a new character and thought it was as good a time as any to jump into it!

So, in this campaign my character is a sort of go-getter of knowledge. He grew up in a small town with people who couldn't care less about the passing of the world, much less anything arcane. He spent his childhood reading what he could about arcana secretly, while his parents enrolled him in a church. On his travels, he fell in love with the divine as well as the mysteries of the arcane, and has since then been seeking knowledge in far away places...

Okay, so that is my general idea. In terms of flavor, I want someone who is seeking knowledge in any way he can get it. This character is replacing a rogue that recently passed away, and so I'm starting at about level 10. The place we are in right now is fairly remote, so I needed a reason for him to be traveling all over the place. I really like the idea of someone who is fascinated by learning things, and that drives his adventure. I also wanted him to be sort of precocious, and have him to pretend a lot more than he thinks he does.

Anyways, in terms of builds I wanted some mix of mystic theurge and loremaster. Loremaster fits the build better, but because of story reasons (the dm set this ahead of time for me) I need to have at least some religious background. However, he said he would be okay with letting the Loremaster spell progression's "existing spellcasting class" upgrade to go directly to the mystic theurge, so I could keep my character concept.

I was going to pick mostly support role spells to buff the other party members: an arcane archer, a melee focused favored soul and a straight barbarian.