PDA

View Full Version : Adding Charisma to Initiative

Sylthia
2013-02-20, 03:41 PM
My reasoning is a character with high Charisma would have more battle-presence/luck/what-have-you and be able to get the edge and act first more often.

I've been doing this for a few years now, and it seems to work out okay. We add the charisma modifier in addition to dex to determine initiative.

It gives Cha a property for every class, putting it on par with pretty much every other stat. Str affects carrying capacity, Dex AC and Reflex saves, Con HP and Fort saves, Int Skill points, and Wis Will saves. Charisma seems to be left out, only affecting some skill rolls and not much else, unless your class uses Cha.

It doesn't kill you if your Cha isn't great, but makes it less of an obvious dump stat.

Grindle
2013-02-20, 03:48 PM
My reasoning is a character with high Charisma would have more battle-presence/luck/what-have-you and be able to get the edge and act first more often.

I've been doing this for a few years now, and it seems to work out okay. We add the charisma modifier in addition to dex to determine initiative.

It gives Cha a property for every class, putting it on par with pretty much every other stat. Str affects carrying capacity, Dex AC and Reflex saves, Con HP and Fort saves, Int Skill points, and Wis Will saves. Charisma seems to be left out, only affecting some skill rolls and not much else, unless your class uses Cha.

It doesn't kill you if your Cha isn't great, but makes it less of an obvious dump stat.

I'm not sure what Charisma has to do with one's ability to react quickly to the start of combat. I think Initiative is just a character's speed of reaction.

If you want to do it, feel free to do it, though.:smallwink:

Sylthia
2013-02-20, 03:57 PM
I could really see any of the mental stats affecting initiative and wouldn't be surprised if there were feats that granted it, but since Charisma doesn't do much, I house-ruled it in.

GunbladeKnight