PDA

View Full Version : Wand Questions...

Usher of Agony
2013-03-13, 04:18 PM
Hello, I am still kinda new to D&D and I have a few ideas that I want to throw out there and see what people think.

I am in a new game right now, just turned lvl 6 and I want to start using wands... that being said I am a rogue 4/ swashbuckler 2... and I want to know of which wands would you recommend to use and any tricks to help me UMD quicker/easier.

I don't have much gold just yet but I am working on it and I also want to know is it possible to make a weapons sheath/scabbard into a wand or vice versa make a wand to be a sheath/scabbard?

so far here is my plan..
wand of cure light wounds (will improve when/if I can)
wand of scorching ray
wand of invisibility
wand of fireball
wand of frost

been looking into weapons with wands in them from dungeonscape and also bracer of wands... any other ideas?

Zherog
2013-03-13, 04:38 PM
The best wands are ones that don't allow/need a saving throw, because the DC from the wand assumes the lowest possible stat necessary to cast the spell. For example, a wand of fireball has a save DC of 14 -- 10 + 3 (spell level) + 1 (Int mod of a 13 Intelligence, the minimum needed to cast the spell).

Cure light wounds is often a good choice, but dependent on your group. invisibility is another good choice.

Ernir
2013-03-13, 04:44 PM
I want to know of which wands would you recommend to use and any tricks to help me UMD quicker/easier.

The cheapest and most basic way is to find a way to justify a masterwork tool (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/equipment/goodsAndServices.htm#toolMasterwork) of UMD to your DM. :smalltongue:

How big is your UMD bonus now, and how much bigger do you need it?

I don't have much gold just yet but I am working on it and I also want to know is it possible to make a weapons sheath/scabbard into a wand or vice versa make a wand to be a sheath/scabbard?