PDA

View Full Version : Special abilities... Let me pick your brain!

Mechanize
2013-03-15, 05:00 PM
I've been writing my own system for a few months now. I am currently thinking of special abilities and boy does this take a long time. If anyone has any unique ideas feel free to let the creative juices flow lol. Here is some background on what I am doing.

Power Source: Every hero will have a power source that fuels special abilities. Each power source will have different mechanics to help give a unique feel. Each hero can dabble in new sources of power when they level up.

Adrenaline: Barbarian type
Tactics: Fighter type
Magic: Caster type
Precision: Rogue/Assassin type
Chi Energy/Ki/Inner Power: Monk type

I am creating a classless system. You are free, upon every new level, to increase your power in a power source you already have, or be diverse and dabble in multiple sources of power. One of my goals is for someone to be able to create any type of PC that they can imagine up... so my first question is this.

- Can anyone think up any other sources of power that a hero would rely on in battle? Something not covered with the above listed?

- Another goal is that each power source is very focused and flavorful, especially magic. For magic, I have Realms that separates magic into very distinct styles and flavors. For tactics I have different disciplines that focus on specific abilities (similar to tomb of battle). Here is a list of magic realms and disciplines. The list is hardly finished or fine tuned. These are just ideas. If anyone has some ideas for realms or disciplines let me know

- And for the abilities themselves. I wouldn't mind a hand because there are hundreds for me to think of. My only goal here is to keep abilities very focused within their power source, realm or discipline. Meaning I don't want mages picking locks or adrenaline users to have finesse.