PDA

View Full Version : Fighter tips with just normal handbook and dms guide any ideas?

Drake2009
2013-03-16, 10:47 PM
Making a human fighter level 1 and I could use some tips. NO prestige class at the moment and im using basic rules. Im pretty new to D&D but im gonna be the veteran cause im playing with 2 newbies and my friend is dming. Also any ideas on a cleric? He worships Obad-Hai and has animal and air domains. they are changeable though.

Hua
2013-03-16, 10:56 PM
Depends on how you want to do it.
Option 1 is high str, high con. Go with 2 handed weapon. Power attack and cleave feats. Dodge and mobility can be good too.

Option 2 is high dex to allow 2 weapon or double weapon fighting style. Lots of options.

Option 3 is traditional sword and board (sword and shield). Lets you hit but not get hit back as often as others. Can allow for lesser con and a crappy healer.

The trick to what you are looking for is the feats you select to best match your stats and play style. Fighters are made awesom by the feat selections. Find a style that matches your stats and make the feats augment that.

ArcturusV
2013-03-16, 11:01 PM
Well, if you're core only. You want to look at Power Attack as your first feat. And you'll want a two handed weapon, based on whatever you can afford at the time. Longspear, Great Club, Battleaxe, whatever. Outside of that... it kind of depends on what you want to go for eventually, and if you qualify for it. Presuming you are starting standard enough you might want a sling as a backup ranged weapon. Cheap, and you can add strength to your damage with it, unlike a crossbow. And even if you run out of ammo you can grab a random rock to use.

Just don't blow your wad on a weapon. Even as a fighter you'll be fragile enough that you want to armor up as much as possible if you're planning on surviving.