PDA

View Full Version : Help DMing a tiny bard!

Exie
2013-03-23, 12:36 PM
Hello everyone, lovely weather today! Except the rain.

So I'm DMing for a tiny fey bard (Petal), and the character can do some amazing things that are rather silly. I need to reign the character in some, and need help because I am a bad rules lawyer. :(

I'm thinking of a few things here.

1 - The character is tiny. My thumb is larger than its lungs. Can the other PCs hear the bard in a heated battle? What DC should it be to listen to the bard (and I'll add +1 per 10 feet)?
2 - I sing. I sing a lot. It's terrifyingly bad. But I've noticed that even when howling along to a song, its amazingly more difficult if I'm moving. I was in marching band and played a trumpet - you had to move very carefully to avoid making dumb noises. That leads to a few penalties I can think of.
2a - Make the character do a skill/ability check to sing on rounds when the bard does other things? What happens if the bard fails?
2b - reduce the bard's movement speed on rounds when it sings
2c - disallow the bard to attack while singing (archer)

...Those are all of my ideas. My game starts soon, so I'd love some input. Thanks guys and gals!

Daftendirekt
2013-03-23, 12:56 PM
Nothing says that bardic music has to be singing. There are plenty of instruments:

Wind instruments - These face the same problems as singing. Moving makes it much harder to play properly.
Percussion - I think this would work well. Running or flying along with a war drum could be kind of cool
String instrument - Picture a tiny fey creature rocking out on a guitar. Hell yes.

Exie
2013-03-23, 01:00 PM
The player wanted to sing, because that way the bard can make its music on the same round it makes a full attack with a bow.

Sooo singing it is. It also matches her fey race.

Whisper rider
2013-03-23, 01:21 PM