PDA

View Full Version : Seeking druid advice

Chronos
2013-03-24, 09:18 PM
So, my gaming group has decided to try a new adventure idea. We're all going to be dwarves, and I've decided I'll try a druid (probably focusing mostly on elemental spells, especially earth and fire). Problem is, I've never done either a druid nor a dwarf before, so I'd like some advice.

The game is starting at 6th level, and I'd be surprised if it goes past 8 or 10. Books are core only (note: Not SRD only, just the PHB, DMG, and MM). We'll have five or six people in the party, so we should have all the bases covered, though I'll probably be the only full divine caster. Stats are 32 point buy.

So far, about all I've decided build-wise is that I'll probably go with a dire badger as my animal companion. Oh, and of course putting my stats mostly into Wis and Con, and skills to include Listen, Spot, and Concentration, but that's just common sense.

Questions: First, are there any good wildshape options (preferably subterranean ones) I should know about at this level? Another dire badger, maybe? Or should I just stay humanoid and wade in with a shillelagh? Second, any can't-miss spells? I'll probably have to prepare a Cure Serious, in case someone needs big healing quick, and there's some decent utility in the elemental spells up to 3rd level, but is there anything that stands out? Third, what magic items are useful? We're going with standard WBL, so wild armor is still too expensive, and wilding clasps are of course non-core. Should I just stock up on things that I can use out-of-combat? CLW wands and scrolls of fix-up spells (remove curse, restoration, etc.); anything else?