PDA

View Full Version : new cleric character.. where to go from here?

dehro
2013-03-27, 12:36 PM
I've just started playing a new character in a campaign set in the Kalamar universe.. he worships the Traveler (based pretty much on fharlanghn) and starts out as a 4th level tank-ish dwarven cleric.
I got kinda lucky with the stats (we rolled them)
them being as follows, after racial and level adjustments:

STR 16
DEX 12
CON 18
INT 12
WIS 18
CHA 10
his domains are travel and luck.

it's probably not the best way I could have allocated the stats, but I'm quite happy with how he turned out as a character, and in the first session he kicked ass with great effectiveness.
for me, playing is not about minmaxing or looking for the optimum in performance terms anyway... as long as I'm satisfied that my character stands a decent chance at surviving a tavern brawl, I'm happy, so that's not why I am addressing you for.

this is my first time playing a cleric and first time playing in the Kalamar setting.. so my question is:
if you were to play a character that starts out like that.. and wanted to give his development some purpose.. where would you lead him to?
any particular mistakes I should avoid making as he levels up? any particular prestige class that is either from the setting or just a cool one to try playing sometimes in the future? should I just stick to the cleric and not multiclass him?
ideas or suggestions are more than welcome

P.S I play him in a party consisting of a gnome druid, a human ranger/thief (not sure which of the two, come to think of it) and an elven sorcerer.

Flickerdart
2013-03-27, 12:49 PM
Given your great Strength and Constitution, I assume you want to take your guy in a more front-liner direction? In that case, the Ordained Champion prestige class (CChamp) is pretty great. It requires the worship of either Hextor or Heironeous to enter, but if your DM allows you to ignore that little problem, things get better real quick.