PDA

View Full Version : New DM advice for the Sunless Citadel

Quelf
2013-04-03, 06:15 PM
A group of my friends want to play a campaign this summer and asked me to DM the game. This is my first time DMing and I am running the Sunless Citadel, Forge of Fury and leading into the The Speaker in Dreams for them. I Just wanted to see if I could get some advice on running these as in are there any classes that I should restrict since they would break the campaign.

Or any interesting twists or ideas to use when crafting the campaigns.

Thank you.

Yora
2013-04-03, 06:20 PM
Since it's all very low-level and pretty straightforward, there isn't really much anyone can do to completely mess things up. Maybe if a player completely wants to ruin everyones day and knows all the obstacles in advance, he could make a specializard character to do just that, but otherwise it doesn't matter.

For first time DMs, my recommendation would be to read through the whole thing and every time there is something where the players have to disrm a trap, balance on something, or would fall into a pit, look up the rules for these things and check if you understand them. Even if you forget them when you actually need them, you at least know where the rules are explaind and having understood them once usually means it comes back very quickly when you take just a short peek.

nobodez
2013-04-03, 06:47 PM
A group of my friends want to play a campaign this summer and asked me to DM the game. This is my first time DMing and I am running the Sunless Citadel, Forge of Fury and leading into the The Speaker in Dreams for them. I Just wanted to see if I could get some advice on running these as in are there any classes that I should restrict since they would break the campaign.

Or any interesting twists or ideas to use when crafting the campaigns.

Thank you.