PDA

View Full Version : Should I Houserule Away with The Multiclass XP-penalty?

DMwithoutPC's
2013-04-09, 02:32 PM
Basically all the title says. I am not very experienced DM playing with a group of players who know even less than me about D&D.

I ask this question because on this forum people often suggest builds which use three or four classes, not counting Prestige, and I just don't understand how they could work with the penalty’s as described in de PHB.

so I wonderd, what do you guys do?

Keep it or get rid of it?

(oh, we're playing 3.5)

Deathslayer7
2013-04-09, 02:33 PM
Each race has a favored class which negates one multi-class penalty if you go into that favored class.

Otherwise it is less of a headache if you just get rid of it.

CoffeeIncluded
2013-04-09, 02:33 PM
I say chuck it out the window (along with racial alignments but that's one houserule that I always implement, along with a bonus feat or extra skill point for half-elves and half-orcs).

laeZ1
2013-04-09, 02:34 PM
I do.

If you want to keep favored classes, but do away with the XP penalty for multiclassing, take a leaf from Pathfinder: When you take your first level in your favored class, you choose (irrevocably) HP or Skill points. Every level of your favored class, you gain 1 additional HP or Skill point, depending on what you chose 1st level.

tyckspoon
2013-04-09, 02:39 PM
forum people often suggest builds which use three or four classes, not counting Prestige

Keep in mind the penalty only applies when you have classes that are more than 1 level apart from each other, and your Favored Class doesn't count. So if you take, say, a Human, and make a build like Class X 2/Class Y 2/Class Z 2/Class A 10.. there is no multiclass penalty on that. But there *is* a penalty if you are doing an 'organic' progression and decide that events in the character's life warrant slipping a level in Rogue or something into your Wizard..