PDA

View Full Version : Song of the White Raven Archer

Piggy Knowles
2013-04-16, 07:18 PM
Hey, all,

I'm working on adding more entries to my google doc full of interesting archer builds, and I was hoping for some refinement on the last.

This is an attempt to make a Song of the White Raven archer. Should be pretty straightforward, but I've never tried to put together a ToB archer before, so I thought I'd post it here.

Some general things I'd like to refine:

1. As written, I'm basically stuck with a shortbow, since neither class gives longbow proficiency. Should I try to finagle EWP (Greatbow) into the build? The early feats are kind of tight, and while I could maybe rearrange some of the later feats, it just seems silly to me to switch out my weapon at level 15 or 18. I could also dip a level in something else (losing Diamond Defense isn't going to kill me), but I don't want to delay my initiating too much. EDIT: Gah, completely forgot about Bracers of Archery. That solves that issue neatly.

2. How screwed will I be if I don't fit Melodic Casting into the build? On a typical bardsader I'd definitely take it so that I could use a wand chamber and get some more bard spells, especially things like Whirling Blade, but I'm not sure how handy it will be here. The feats are pretty tight, so it's tough.

3. With only three bardic music uses, I'm going to be pretty ridiculously tight until very late levels, so usual tricks like having both regular IC and DFI up won't really fly. Is it worth bumping Woodland Archer back a bit to get Extra Music earlier? Or even one of the base archery feats?