PDA

View Full Version : [PF] Which Combat Maneuver

sepchan
2013-04-20, 06:39 AM
The current campaign I'm playing in is slated to reach into the mid to high level. I have very little experience playing above 10th level in Pathfinder and I was wondering which combat maneuver I could focus on in my build. I have seen comments saying that things become immune/hard to trip at higher levels and similar issues with grapple. So what I'm hoping to get out of this is a combat maneuver that would be versatile and preferably able to be used consistently as I level.

I'm playing a Biped Synthesist Summoner. I already plan to have high Strength, so I wanted to find something else to do with my Strength besides hit things. As a Synthesist I can be huge (Easily increased to gargantuan) at level 13 if that makes a difference for some of the combat maneuvers.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Corlindale
2013-04-20, 07:08 AM
Trip and grapple are usually the most potent maneuvers, but it's true that they won't be universally useful. This is true of pretty much all of them, though.

Grapple may be the most potent one, and as a synthesist you can probably become better at it than most, with access to huge size and some evolutions specifically related to grappling.

Trip can be nice too, but it requires enemies to be non-fliers with legs. Also, not all enemies are equally affected by being tripped (a spellcaster can sling spells just as well from prone position, though it will of course be harder for him to get away).

Bull Rush is only really fun if you have something to push people into. It could be pretty effective if you combine it with some of the battlefield control spells on the summoner list (like the Pit spells which specifically do not allow saves when someone is bull rushed into them).

Disarm is even more restricted than trip, but it can be very powerful against enemies reliant on equipment. Smart foes will have backup weapons, though.

grarrrg
2013-04-20, 08:46 AM