PDA

View Full Version : Epic Moments

imaloony
2013-05-06, 12:55 PM
So, I've been playing D&D for a few years now (Dodging back and forth between AD&D, 3.5, and Pathfinder) and I've found that sometimes, everything goes right, or everything goes wrong. Sometimes, something amazing happens in those games, and they need to be recorded for future generations.
It doesn't necessarily have to be something awesome like slaying a dragon, or defeating a lich's army. It can happen in the most simple encounter, or just from a player wandering a town, and here is one from our group of an encounter that went so perfectly that you'd have thought that the DM was railroading us through it:

So, we just started a new AD&D campaign after defeating the boss from the last campaign and had a 70 year time-skip. I'm playing an Elf Druid, and our party consists of a Water Spirit Cleric, a Human Fighter/Rune Priestess, a Human Paladin, a Human Cavalier, and a Wild Elf Monk, and we're all still 1st-3rd level.

We're sent to try and find out who tried to take over a series of strongholds by staging a fake tournament to lure the guards away. We return to a previously cleared out stronghold to find it occupied with baddies again, but we've got 30 men-at-arms with us this time, so our group enters first.
We enter the main chamber and see a few Orcs. One Orc turns and sees our group. Then he waves at the Cavalier and turns back around.
Let's pause for a moment. The Cavalier is from a previously destroyed family, looking to rebuild his family. A while ago, he received evidence that may point to his family NOT being destroyed, and potentially being behind these attacks. So now the Cavalier has almost confirmed that suspicion, as the Orc didn't attack after seeing the family crest on his shield.
The Cavalier turns to the rest of the group and says "Get back with the soldiers and get read out here."
We protest, but after he insists, we agree and retreat behind the doors to set up.