PDA

View Full Version : A few questions about fate core rules

Kol Korran
2013-05-12, 11:56 PM
I'm new to the system, and I'm wondering about a few things. If this matters, assume the setting is a post apocalyptic Fallout style one.

1. The investigate skill when is it applied? I can imagine PC's investigating using a myriad of other skills: social skills to interrogate people, notice to search a crime scene, lore for specific tidbits of info and so... when does investigate come into play?

2. Permanent scene aspects such as pillars, darkness and so on... using them costs a fate point Evert time? So a guy hiding behind a pillar Burns fate points just by staying there?

3. Vehicles in the same battle as people on foot can you drive and shoot at the same time? How is movement through zones compared between walkers and drivers? Can you ram walkers? Do you still suffer full ramming damage? Do you cause more damage to "soft targets"?

That is all I have for now. Might have something more later.

Thanks!

Ranos
2013-05-13, 12:21 AM
1)It's an active perception/research skill. It finds things out. Notice couldn't search a crime scene, it's passive and only gives surface details. Lore isn't a research skill, it lets you simply know things, no research needed.

2)Depends. Why would he roll Stealth more than once ? Or do you mean taking cover ? Then yes, the pillar only helps his defense roll if he spends a fate point to make it matter. But it's not like he has to burn fate points constantly, he can skip it if the attack against him would normally miss. The invocation bonus is retroactive after all.

3)Not up to date on the Extras rules, so I'll leave that one to someone else.

Kol Korran
2013-05-13, 08:29 AM
1)It's an active perception/research skill. It finds things out. Notice couldn't search a crime scene, it's passive and only gives surface details. Lore isn't a research skill, it lets you simply know things, no research needed.