PDA

View Full Version : High survivability class needed.

mrendels93
2013-06-12, 12:34 PM
Hello, I am going to be playing my first 4e game this week, and I need a character for a campaign that is going to be brutally difficult. The expectations are that people will be dieing, possibly a lot. I am new to 4e, so I don't know what classes start with a decent chance at surviving. Later levels shouldn't matter as much, I just need a first character to last a couple levels so I can get used to the new system.

Not looking for a cheesetastic build, just something fun to play that can last in a fight. I was thinking of a blackguard from heroes of shadow (which removes some of the difficulty with not knowing the system because it picks a lot of powers for me). Any suggestions would be welcome =)

Oh, before I forget, standard point buy, and for classes I am open to play pretty much anything. I normally play rogues, fighters, rangers, and clerics in 3.5 and pathfinder (melee combatants are always a favorite of mine). Will roll up the occasional wizard or druid for fun though, so I'm pretty comfortable playing any roll.

Wymmerdann
2013-06-12, 12:43 PM
Dwarven Earthstrength Warden is probably the toughest thing out there. Battlerager's can probably compete hit-point wise because of their invigorating abilities, but Warden's have great HP and surge value (so you can heal more often for more points), great defenses, and the Font of Life class feature, which makes them incredibly resilient against save-ends affects.

Pump Str and Con. Wis Tertiary (consider superior will down the track as this won't scale well).

Early feats should include Bludgeon Expertise (for accuracy), Crippling Crush (with slow/immobilise powers you'll be doing off-striker level damage) and sudden roots (keys really well with crippling crush and makes you sticky, which will help team-mates). Dwarven Weapon training will pump up the damage and give you proficiency with the craghammer.