PDA

View Full Version : Help for a fledgling DM

crmk00
2013-06-19, 02:37 AM
So, I've been playing Dungeons and Dragons for about a year now. I've been involved in 3 campaigns, the third of which I'm still playing in. However, I've started my own DnD group where I'm DMing to a (mostly) different group of players, and I need some help.

(This isn't to say I'm completely new to DMing by the by, I've listened to Noah Antwiler's Counter Monkey stories and read through several threads on this site before posting.)

First of all, in the very first campaign, my DM let us use his DDI account for the character builder because no one in the group could afford to buy a ****ton of books that we might not even use again. After he cancelled his service, a friend loaned us all his copy of the offline builder and it wasn't exactly the same. The problem is, with my group I want them to have access to EVERYTHING since it's their first campaign. So, one of the things I especially want to use is something I remember called Hengeyokai. Problem is, when I asked my game store clerk if he knew what book they were in he gave me the "deer in the headlights" look. Can someone tell me where they were included?

Secondly, I'm planning on having some large boss fights where it's just one creature. How do I balance this against a party of 10?

Thirdly, I'd like to implement a system to penalize players for relying too heavily on their skills. Like, if you rely on Diplomacy you'd be labelled a silver-tounged cheat, or religion users might be branded as zealots. Could someone help with this? I'm thinking penalties to checks, but I'm not sure how large to make them and how long they would last.

thatSeniorGuy
2013-06-19, 02:48 AM