PDA

View Full Version : Classic Wizard Spells & Spell Selection

Everynone
2013-06-23, 09:31 PM
Hey so I'm about to play a wizard for the first time and I was just wondering what you guys consider to be 'bread and butter' or 'classic' wizard spells I should try out. This is a topic I've always been curious about.

Also, since this is my first time playing a wizard, I wanted to go for a generalist all-around spell selection until I get a handle on playing such a complex and versatile class, at which point I'll do more focusing in my spell selection. I have access to the Spell Compendium, and I was wondering what you guys consider good spells to use in such spell list.

eggynack
2013-06-23, 09:43 PM
Have ya checked out Treantmonk's guide to wizards (http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?topic=394.0)? That's usually what I look at, when I'm looking for cool spells. It's just about the best spell selection guide out there.

Everynone
2013-06-23, 10:24 PM
Have ya checked out Treantmonk's guide to wizards (http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?topic=394.0)? That's usually what I look at, when I'm looking for cool spells. It's just about the best spell selection guide out there.

I'm reading it now, thanks! I have also read The Logic Ninja's guide and Dictum Mortuum's guide as well, but they didn't do a good job answering my first question, and my second question was kinda too general for those guides.

But still: what spells do you consider 'classics'? And what should a generalist's spell list ideally look like?

ericgrau
2013-06-23, 11:08 PM
Classics IMO. Generally good ones italicized, not that the others can't be good or sometimes better if used right.
1: magic missile, sleep, charm person, feather fall, burning hands.
2: web, invisibility
3: fireball, haste, lightning bolt, hold person