PDA

View Full Version : Using AD&D concepts to "improve" my d20 games

Yora
2013-06-29, 05:35 AM
I started a thread with a similar question some days ago, but maybe phrasing it differently and directing it at people who already believe AD&D did things right and possibly even better, might get greater positive responses.

I like the basic idea of the d20 system (roll 1d20, add modifiers, reach or surpass target number) and also how it deals with skills and feats (though I personally believe Pathfinder greatly improved assigning Skill Ranks). But as much as I like how you create characters, I am really not a fan of how you run the actual gameplay. There is just so much rolling of dice for minor and trivial things, because the d20 system wants to cover pretty much everything imaginable with clearly defined rules.
Now I started playing only in the very last months before D&D 3rd Edition and have only very limited actual experience with how AD&D plays out in practice, but when I look at the rules, they appear to leave much more things to the GMs descretion without trying to create special rules for situations that barely, if ever, come up (and as a result always need to be looked up). I also love the Dragon Age RPG and Mouse Guard, which also are doing completely fine with relatively lose rules.

So what I am looking for is ideas for replacing complex things in a d20 game with much simpler and easier solutions that were completely servicable in AD&D or work out great in Retro-Clones.
I already got a few ideas of my own, but any other suggestions will be highly welcome.

- No grid and attacks of opportunity from movement. Flanking can be done by simply saying "I flank enemy X together with ally A", and almost everything else the grid is really needed for is figuring out who provokes attacks of opportunity for moving out of a threatened square. With those gone, everything else can be tracked accurately enough in your mind.