PDA

View Full Version : Naming alrternate Earths

Bryan1108
2013-06-29, 04:16 PM
So I am just starting out, working on an adventure that will take the heroes to almost a dozen different alternate Earths (Evil Twin Earth, Cartoon Earth, High Fantasy Earth, Far Future Earth, etc) and I am stuck on names.

I don't want to go Earth ### or Earth A,B,C etc as that has been done to death as well as Alpha, Beta and so forth.

I like the idea of naming them Midgard, Gaia, Tellis and Terra but then I run out names before I run out of Earths.

Using Earth in other languages or re-ordering the letters in "EARTH" seems like a cop out.

Does anyone have a more creative solution to this?

jedipilot24
2013-06-29, 04:26 PM
Well here's one more name for your list:
Antichthon

From the Greek it means 'Counter-Earth' and it was the name given to a hypothetical planet that orbits the sun on the exact opposite side of the Sun from the Earth.

Check it out:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Counter-Earth

Then, if you want a subtle Lord of the Rings reference, there's Arda.

If you're still stumped, just start looking at different languages for their names for 'dirt' or 'ground' and use that.

Bryan1108
2013-06-29, 04:31 PM
Nice, thanks. :)

SarahV
2013-06-29, 04:35 PM
Maybe all the planets think they are the "real" Earth and have names indicating they are the only/first/real one. Real Earth, Earth One, Earth Alpha, Earth Prime, Original Earth, Genuine Earth, Actual Earth, True Earth, etc.

For a sillier game you could name them like movies... Earth 2: Judgment Day, Earth Reloaded, Earth vs. Gamera, Revenge of Earth, Earth: Origins, Apocalypse Earth...

Easiest for people to remember would be to pick a name that ties in with the theme enough to remind people what it is: fantasy earth could be "Tolkien", cartoon earth could be "Hannabarbera," evil twin earth could be "Nale," etc. Pick ones that your group would know.

Bryan1108
2013-06-29, 04:40 PM