PDA

View Full Version : Question about Grad Studies.

Balain
2013-06-30, 01:41 AM
It is a little ways off, but Since I have returned to University I was thinking trying to get into Grad Studies might be an idea for me. My understanding (from years ago) you needed a GPA of 3 (on a scale of 4) My GPA for courses in my major is 3.85. How ever my average includes grades from when I was 18 and dumb, I never study, etc. This has brought my overall average to something like 2.4. If I continue my trend I should keep bringing my average up to about a 3.

My question is If I do decide to try to get into Grad Studies, do they just look at my overall average, or will they take into account many of those courses were taken 20+ years ago and my current GPA is much better?

I know it more than likely changes from school to school but just wanted to see what the general case would be.

WarKitty
2013-06-30, 02:24 AM
What major are you? Here in the states it's typically decided program-by-program, and there are more considerations than just your GPA on paper. Most likely only your most recent GPA would count.

Don Julio Anejo
2013-06-30, 07:24 AM
There's a very good chance they won't look at anything past 5 (10) years ago. Also, think whether going to grad school will in any way increase your earning power. If it's something like an MBA, by all means, go for it. If it's liberal arts, you've never worked in them, don't have teaching credentials and have no intention of becoming a university prof (which usually entails a PhD and TA'ing for a number of years before you even get a chance), don't.

noparlpf
2013-06-30, 11:33 AM