PDA

View Full Version : Dragon Apocalypse!! New Setting-Help Deveolping.

Whisper rider
2013-07-10, 03:13 PM
Greetings.
I have been playing D&D for a couple of years now, and i want do a first (for Real) Try at DMing, since i´ve play a couple of adventures with some of my new at D&D Friends.
I was thinking on a Custom Setting, A post apocalyptic World Where dragons are the rulers.
My initial thoughs on this are.
*Great Numbers of ruined cities all around the continent.
*probably dragons rule over one continent not all around the globe.
*Most remaining cities are inside mountains or very well hiden or have some kind of arrengement withthe rulin dragon of that area.
*Some resistance groups have being formed.
*Most people are nomads.
*Homebrew kobolds exist, besides the lesser, kobold.
*half breeds are uncommon, but exist.

I came here searching for some awesome imput and flavor, as you guys alwasy have some great ideas. I´m planning on my Players start a campaing on this setting from level 1 or 2 onwards. so help with this would be awesome.
thanks

ArcturusV
2013-07-10, 03:24 PM
One of the first things I'd consider for this? Nix the Color Coded For Your Convenience thing. If Dragons are ruling the roost, have them interbreed and swap abilities, etc. Now you have Red Dragons who can spew acid, Purple Dragons who can shoot Lightning, etc. You want to keep players on their toes because chances are they're going to go dragon hunting. And since Dragons are ruling the place and don't have to hide in caves, this seems a logical step for me. With my own experience? It makes players panic when that happens. "Wait... that black dragon just breath weaponed ice at us?! THE HELL?!"

You might want to look towards books like Midnight Mass. Sure it's Vampires, not Dragons. But what I'm talking about here is the interconnected nature of the occupiers, and the "Cowboy" (or as the heroes called it "Vichy") use.