PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, question about AC Modifiers...

Equinoxcode
2013-07-19, 02:33 PM
I was given Bracers of Natural Armor +2 and an Amulet of Armor +2. I already have +1 Leather Armor and a Ring of Protection +2. What would my total AC bonus be? What items cancel each other out AC wise?

Sorry for the newbie question, my DM is out of town and I cant get a hold of him and I have no idea what I'm doing.

Thanks in advance!

Fouredged Sword
2013-07-19, 02:45 PM
Ok, you are running into a stacking issue, and those are non-standard items so double check this (normally natural armor bonus comes from an amulet and armor bonus comes from bracers). Bonuses don't stack with the same type of bonus.

The amulet provides a +2 bonus to natural armor.

The amulet and your leather armor both provide an armor bonus (check this), so don't stack, and you get +2 as the higher bonus.

Your ring is a deflection bonus, so you get that.

Total is +6 to armor, so you get 16+your dex modifier as your AC, and you can trade away ether the amulet or leather armor and loose nothing.

Codyage
2013-07-19, 02:46 PM
I am going to guess you meant to type Braces of Armor, Amulet of Natural Armor.

Braces of Armor is a +2 Armor bonus.
Amulet of Natural Armor is +2 Enhancement bonus.
Ring of Protection +2 is a Deflection bonus.

As far as I know, all three stack together, since they are different types of bonuses.

The +1 Leather Armor lessens AC Penalty by 1. I don't believe it gives you a bonus to AC.

Right now you get +6 to your ac, due to the items, and a AC penalty of 0.

(Leather Armor automatically has a 0 AC penalty, so the +1 doesn't do much for you, unless you want to get it magically enchanted or something.)

I MAY be wrong on the armor. I keep seeing different people respond to Masterwork Armor, so I am not sure if you do get an AC bonus or not.

Edit:Forgot Leather Armor does indeed have an Armor Bonus of 2, so you can drop the Leather Armor, or the bracers as said above.