PDA

View Full Version : total noob to 4th

drakoonity
2013-07-26, 02:35 PM
Ok so I have only played 3.5 and in out group we are going to try 4th to see how we like it, I know noone in our group knows how to play it really we only have the core books I think. My question is, is can anyone tell me like a bit over view of it all, or if you can direct me to the right links so I can find out. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Akodo Makama
2013-07-26, 03:23 PM
This topic:

http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=292427

Has a number of good descriptions of the differences between 3.5/pathfinder and 4e.

Short version: it's a team game, don't expect to be solving entire encounters on your own. Wizards still rule, but so do fighters (and monks). Everyone has strengths and weaknesses; use your strengths to cover your mates' weaknesses.

Dimers
2013-07-26, 06:20 PM
About the game ... it's heroic fantasy, and every character will be broadly skilled and effective at what they do. Its mechanics focus on combat almost exclusively and it's not possible to make a noncombat character, but there's as much roleplaying potential here as there is in almost any other game.

The game is split into three tiers of play. In the first, you choose a class and a race to begin shaping your identity. In the second tier, you're established and it's time to really specialize. In the third tier, you work toward ascending (or possibly conquering) the world, becoming legend.

Some useful how-to tips ... Buy a subscription to D&D Insider. It costs less than $2 per group member per month, everyone in the group can use it simultaneously, and it's excellent for making characters, finding out about the system and looking up facts on the fly.

If the DM only uses monsters from the first MM, fights will be a bit of a slog and Solo boss monsters will go down too easily. They got it right by MM3.

Get inventive in skill use.

Refluff descriptions to your heart's content.