PDA

View Full Version : ...How do you keep all this straight?

ManInOrange
2013-07-27, 12:21 PM
I'm a novice DM aspiring to be intermediate, and I'm beginning to look into homebrew fixes for what seem to be flaws of the system e.g. how iterative attacks work. I've even addressed a few things like this before which I simply wanted to be more realistic, such as penalties to move silently for chain shirts, and a reduction in move silently penalty for leather.

The problem I'm having is that there are a LOT of these patches that I want to implement, and they're all in different places. Even if they were not in different places, some of them have specific rules and functions, and I'm not sure I would remember to look up the patched version instead of the one in the PHB or whatever counts for it.

So for those of you who use patches for your go-to system, how do you keep all of the information in the same place, and how do you remember what fixes have been made? More importantly, how do you let your characters know what changes you've been making so that the more experienced ones aren't taken by surprise?

Vadskye
2013-07-27, 12:32 PM
I have seen many people create a single document which lists all of their changes - often organized by the chapter in the PHB that they affect. The document can either be a full description of every house rule used, or a short summary (probably that you write) with direct links to the full descriptions.

I took it a step further and wrote a completely new, more or less self-contained core rulebook. But most DMs don't change enough to warrant that investment.

erikun
2013-07-27, 12:56 PM
I'd generally recommend putting the changes together in a GoogleDoc format, or linking them all in a common location, such as in your signature or in the first post of an OOC thread.