PDA

View Full Version : Swordsage AoO/tripper

ramrod
2013-08-04, 07:17 PM
Hi!

I have been working on an unarmed variant swordsage for the last week.. Iv been optimising like hell... Right down to the fabric his pants are made from lol.

However, I'm also interested in a different type, I originally thought about a spiked chain aoo build and I'll be getting my teeth into it in the morning. What I'm hoping for is a bit of a starter, I have looked at all the handbooks etc already.

What race, feats, stats etc would you recommend for this? I've never built something like this before! (Unarmed swordsage is just a long way from home on this :smallsmile: )

ramrod
2013-08-04, 07:20 PM
Oh, I basically have access to everything. There are a lot of house rules but only for stopping ultra cheese and pun puns. Swordsage is actually helped along a lot by my DM, adaptive style is a free feat at lvl 4 and it is a full recover, not just one.

30 point buy, 2 flaws allowed if you need to know!

Snowbluff
2013-08-04, 07:26 PM
Improved Trip (Duh!) works with Setting Sun throws. How about some other Setting Sun tricks?

No wait, Falling Sun Strike and Distant Horizon don't synergize very well with a tripper. You can still use the throwing Maneuvers.

If you have Mercurial Strike, you can add Iaijutsu, Sudden Strike, and Sneak Attack to the damage.

Nettlekid
2013-08-04, 07:45 PM
You might like looking at the Gatling Gun Tripper build (somewhat on the Char Op forums, Google it) which is a Fighter, but I'm sure you could use a lot of it for a Swordsage. Three levels of Factotum are great for trippers because you get to add Int to all Str and Dex checks, which trips are.

Snowbluff
2013-08-04, 07:58 PM
Sandsnare from Sandstorm force a full round action to get up in dusty areas.

Defensive Throw (CW) is really good, actually. Synergizes well with Improve Trip. Would work great with Karmic/Rolimbar's.