PDA

View Full Version : Ravaged Sea Campaign Journal(s)

jlavack
2013-08-20, 06:25 PM
Hi there, I am new at this whole forum thing, but was so inspired by the Silver Claw Shift campaign files that I wanted to catalogue my own game.

Myself I am the DM for this Homebrew which I started designing about four years ago. It has gone through several overhauls and re-writes until the current form which I am very happy with.

The game is a massive undertaking. I have started one party of five and am starting up another of five to run in tandem. Same plot, same world. Weekly sessions for each party. PCs do not have character sheets, only powers with descriptions of the attack/feat (I want to maximise role paying and smooth combat - so far this has worked greatly) and they only roll if I ask them to. My plan is to have the parties cross over at certain points for super important plot events.

My intent with starting this is to catalogue the sessions this far and to hopefully have my players take over the posting of the sessions - it is much more interesting in my mind to read from a player's point of view than the DM's.

The World: Caldae
An ocean planet. Steam punk/gas lamp fantasy vibe. Magic is natural (see bellow), metal is scarce - there are no new mines so it is all recycled. Gods are physically manifested and are tied closely to the magic.
There is only one continent (The Aquilan continent) and this is the home base of the bad guys - the self titled Aquilan Empire (think pseudo Roman/Great Britain/western empires). Ruled by Alora the God Queen. God of Blood Magic. Aquila is super magical, tall spires, floating things, little technology uninfluenced by magic.