PDA

View Full Version : Mental Effects of Slavery

pitdude243
2013-08-23, 06:28 PM
What's going on guys,

I recently started playing in an Underdark campaign where the party were enslaved to a drow priestess as a "Exotic Pet" collection. We were sexually abused (the DM put heavy emphasis on the fact we didn't like it), we were beaten and tortured for hours a day, and paraded around the city as toys for over a year.

The house we belonged too was ransacked by an enemy house and destroyed and we were helped out by a drow turned good (DM is a huge fan of Drizzt) and we are navigating through the Underdark to find our way to the surface.

My character was chosen to be apart of this collection because he is a Tiefling Psion with purple skin. His skin is purple because his heritage traces back to a despicable Ghaunadaur cult who, in exchange for power, let Ghaunadaur corrupt their lifeline and producing Tieflings (this will be revealed to the party is a really cool way).

What would my character have as a mental side effect of all of this abuse? I personally think that because he's a psion he'd be more vunerable to the more severe mental afflictions.

By the way, we are playing this campaign in 4th edition but I find this forum is much more active and friendly, and since this question has nothing to do with 4th edition rules, procedures, or 4e Essentials I thought it was cool, but I can repost this in the 4e sub-forum if need be.

Thank you all in advance for the help. :smallsmile:

Kid Jake
2013-08-23, 06:42 PM
Personally I'd consider psions to be less likely to be broken mentally since their whole thing is manifesting ungodly power through sheer force of will, but undirected rage or aversion to physical contact could both be likely effects.

Or maybe he has a more detached world view now? Mentally and physically separating himself from the rest of the world to avoid inadvertently retriggering painful memories?

A_S
2013-08-23, 06:48 PM