PDA

View Full Version : [BESM 3rd Edition] How does ammo work?

theonesin
2013-09-03, 09:15 PM
I'm going to be playing in a campaign soon(Gundam 0079-esque in terms of technology), and I wanted to make a demolitions expert who used a lot of grenades in battle. I'm still new to character creation though, and the "Ammo -4" stat on the pre-made grenades is confusing me.

While I get that it means they're consumed on use, what exactly determines how many grenades I have? There isn't really money in this game from what I can tell, so I guess everything's paid for in character points. Do I pay the point cost PER grenade though? Because if that's the case, I don't know how my character can work when a I'd be paying over twice the cost of say, a light machine gun, for just TWO frag grenades.

Any help with this? Is there something with ammo that I'm missing, because I hope there is. Thanks.

Tengu_temp
2013-09-03, 10:10 PM
You can get a new grenade whenever you get the chance to resupply ammo. If you want to have more than one grenade at once, it's better to just buy a virtually infinite amount of grenades as a custom weapon - same stats, but lacks the "ammo -4" drawback.

Also, insert mandatory plug for M&M 2e/3e here, which does everything BESM does, only better.

theonesin
2013-09-03, 11:35 PM
We're just going with BESM because it's what the DM and some of the other players know.

Anyway, that helped straighten it out, and while the "infinite grenades" weapon is nice, it almost immediately left the DM concerned about balance. So, I'm just going to drop the idea entirely, it's just going to be a headache if I have to redo parts of my character later. There's just a bad feeling if just the concept of a character is raising red flags.

I'll just try to think of something else, though I really have no idea what to go with now.

realbombchu
2013-09-04, 10:26 AM