PDA

View Full Version : Custom Items, 3 Questions?

ManInOrange
2013-09-04, 01:27 PM
The issue of how to work these kinds of things into my campaign (or my own characters' inventories) has arisen more than once, so it's about time I ask about trying to generalize them. I understand that these things can't necessarily be generalized, but some good rules of thumb would help me loads. I'm not that experienced with judging balance, and I'm a mathematician, so formulas are perfect.

1) How do you put a price tag on weapon enhancements? The DMG pg 285 has that handy chart for spell effects, but there aren't any good guidelines regarding effects akin to the Flaming enhancement, scaling when more bonuses are stacked on.

Example:
I have a player who wants an axe with the effect of slowing his enemies. The MIC has a nice example, Slow Burst, but it only triggers on critical hits, and he doesn't want it to function only X times per day. Further, even at 30000, it seems overpowered to Slow opponents for 5 rounds with a DC of 14 every time they're hit. It's almost as good as a save-or-lose, and further, it would cripple my ability to throw boss monsters at the party. This in addition to the fact that it would basically require a +4 (I guess?), and that's outside of his budget.
One round after each hit would be more manageable, but then I don't know what a good price would be, and it would still probably be outside of his budget.

2) Given magic items that prompt saves, how do you typically adjust the price to prompt higher saves?

Example:
I have a player who wanted Tanglefoot bags that force higher than a DC 15 Reflex save. What's a good rule of thumb for increasing that DC and still maintaining a reasonable level of balance?
I know it's not a magic item, but I've had similar questions before regarding the Mirror of Suggestion and the pipes of pain.

3) How did Wizards (of the Coast) determine the price of enchanted arrows?

Example: