PDA

View Full Version : Formula for how LA affects EXP?

LogosDragon
2013-09-07, 10:02 PM
Does anybody know a good way to calculate how much Level Adjustment will affect a given character's EXP at varying levels, or will you have to calculate experience by-level with each different character/situation?

As an example, imagine a Half-Fiend character (LA+4) with a +0 LA base race (mainly because I couldn't think off the top of my head of a base race with +4 LA and no RHD) with an ECL of 39; in other words, 35 class levels. If I remember correctly from the experience by level tables, getting to 35 class levels with the +4 LA would take less EXP than getting to 39 class levels with +0 LA, but is there a more time-efficient way to calculate the difference without looking at the level-up charts every time?

Try to keep it simple or at least explain in layman's terms if said formula must be complicated, because I'm not very good at the whole complex math thing.

mattie_p
2013-09-07, 10:07 PM
There is no formula.

Taking a Pixie (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/sprite.htm#pixie) (an LA +4 character with no racial hit dice) to ECL 39 (35 class levels and +4 LA) takes exactly the same exp as a human to ECL 39 (39 class levels and +0 LA).

The only difference might be if your game uses Level Adjustment Buyoff (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/variant/races/reducingLevelAdjustments.htm).

LA Buyoff gets more complicated, because as you buy off the LA, your total ECL decreases. If you are in a party, and you are playing from, lets say, ECL 5 all the way to ECL 39, you will eventually be able to reduce your LA to +0. While doing so, your ECL, compared to that of your party, will probably fluctuate, causing you to gain extra XP at various times because you are at a lower level than the rest of your party, and thus gain more XP from the same encounter.