PDA

View Full Version : New comic, looking for support:

Jessicat
2013-09-11, 11:48 AM
Hey Playgrounders,

This is my first time posting in a while; I'm a champion lurker, but I figured I would give this a shot to rally some support for a new project.

I have had a webcomic idea kicking around in my brain for many years now, about ten to be precise and have had trouble getting it up and running because I have never felt artistically sound enough to pull off my ideas. I draw, but I do not feel that i'm there... yet.

Anyhow, I connected with some folks at FanExpo this year who are running a contest to kickstart new comic ideas and help new people gain a foothold in the genre. I have pitched them my idea, and it has been accepted into the top 100 ideas (yay!). If my idea is crowned #1, I will get a development contract that will allow me to onboard an artist and make this comic a real thing. They will also fund me enough to put it into print, but my initial plan was to make it available online and I still want to do that SO bad.

Sadly, as it is with the world today, the winner is decided via social media vote. Since I am your quintessential gamer .. comic.. nerd.... I don't have a wide social network, and this is why I am reaching out to you kind folks; to spread the word and hope that some of you may like my idea enough to vote on it.

Lost Eden: The Pitch.
This story was initially drafted one summer in a small French farmhouse with my best friend. The soundtrack was Black Sabbath's "NIB" (or was it "Heaven and Hell?"). The idea was simple: If you had the chance to experience heaven, and it was taken away from you? To what lengths would you go to get it back? Would you seize the chance when you saw it? Or lie down and let it slip away from you?