PDA

View Full Version : A new DM needing advice and feedback! (Please?)

Wandering Saint
2013-09-15, 07:11 PM
Hello, friends! I know this isn't really customary for a first posting, but I am a new DM that is trying to get a group of online friends into DnD 3.5e. We are going to be using Roll20 which we are all familiar with, and this is my first time really DMing.

I'm confident in my ability to tell a good story, but I need some advice, as I'm having to create a whole new world for this campaign (New pantheons, new maps, new cities, ect!) and it's quite overwhealming!

As for the story (Spoilered in case one of them read this)

The party starts off fairly simply with them trying to avert a war between two small countries, who are being tricked into war by a sect of necromancers. If the party does not stop the necromancer and find out his plans in case of his death, then the southern kingdoms will be wracked by a plague, for example.
The primary kicker of the Grand Campaign is that at lv 5, the party will meet a woman (about 19-24 years of age) who has been, for lack of better terms, a pariah all of her life. She possesses immense and terrible power that cannot even be identified by the non-draconic master spellcasters of the realm (as she is essentially the Daughter of Chaos.) They take her to a city far to the North where a holy order of a Lawful Good Goddess, suffering strange and debilitating effects on the journey there, where they drop her off, and we don't see her for a while.