PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Character Creation Help

Glarx
2013-10-12, 05:18 PM
Hey there, folks. Not sure if this is the right forum for this, so if I'm in the wrong place, please just say so and I'll do my best to rectify that situation.

So I'm going to be joining a Pathfinder game, which is apparently similar enough to 3.5 that I shouldn't be entirely lost, but is different enough that my knowledge is relatively useless. We're using some strange form of gestalt, I've got 36 point buy (which, to my knowledge, is far higher-powered than 36 PB for 3.5), and my classes have been selected for me: Cleric 4 | Oracle 4.

Now, I am a serious noob here, and I've got no idea what sorts of anything I ought to be doing. What feats should I select? What mysteries (I think that's what the oracle's class feature thing is called)?

I'm in a group of five other players who are intimately familiar with the game system, and three are self-professed power gamers, so how can my little cleracle be relevant? I'm looking for an obliterator (someone who can channel all the glory of the heavens into beams of death [although which beams of death are the most potent in Pathfinder is something I'm unfamiliar with]) although having some tertiary buffing powers might not be amiss. Although there aren't any straight up meatshields in the group, so things like Enlarge Person would be wasted.

I wish I could tell you what everyone else's classes are, but I'm afraid I don't know. We're all being secretive.

So, is there any help for a poor greenhorn like me? Feel free to ask questions about the situation, and I'll gladly answer what I can as accurately and precisely as I can. Any help would be happily received.

Thank you, regardless!

Giarc
2013-10-12, 05:34 PM
Well, first, do you have access to the books or know about the SRD? If not, here is a link to it: www.d20pfsrd.com

Glarx
2013-10-12, 05:37 PM