PDA

View Full Version : Unarmed SwordSage -what it acquire and what is loosing

Biskup
2013-10-18, 12:17 PM
Hi

Recently I started playing as Unarmed SwordSage that mimics a "Grappling Boxer". As describtion of "unarmed" Swordsage variant is very inacurate, me and my GM have some... discussion about what Unarmed SwordSage should have.

My variant:

Looses:
light Armor proficency.

Gains:
Monk unarmed BAB
Monk unarmed dmg
+ of course attacks without provoking attack on opp.

My GM variant:

Looses:
light Armor proficency.
Wisdom AC bonus while wearing light armor

Gains:
Monk unarmed BAB
Monk unarmed dmg
+ of course attacks without provoking attack on opp.

At first it might not look so bad. BUT, take in account that if I would take light armour proff. perk, I could get some flashy light armour and have Wis AC bonus (as per standard SwordSage). Monk usually have rather low AC, but he gets that +1 AC /5 lvl bonus, which is not great, but it's always something.

What are Your variants of Unarmed SwordSage? Any ideas? Also, I'm looking for additional maneuvers, not listed in Book Of Nine Swords.

Snowbluff
2013-10-18, 12:33 PM
I leave them the same. They can get armor proficiency from another class, or wear Twist Cloth. If I were to make a change, I would make it so they could qualify for Stunning Fist as a feat, and they get the armor bonus when wearing no armor.

Just a heads up, as it stand the variant gives the Monk Unarmed Ability, which includes the Improved Unarmed Strike feat.

Red Fel
2013-10-18, 01:18 PM
Assuming you're using the variant as described in the text, (which is vaguely written and subject to much interpretation), the clear language is that you "give the swordsage the monk's unarmed strike progression and remove his light armor proficiency." That's all it says.

So let's break that down into the two clauses. The second clause, "remove his light armor proficiency[,]" is easy: remove light armor from Swordsage's proficiencies. Done.