PDA

View Full Version : Magic and Pathfinder

ProudGrognard
2013-10-21, 01:09 PM
The wall of text begins...

I have been Roleplaying in and around DnD for almost 20 years now. It was the first system I learned and I have gone most of its editions. It has shaped my RPGing habits, and it is the system I always default to. To me, Pathfinder is the best iteration of the game. You may disagree, and you would be fully in the right to do so. I am not stating an ontological position here, just stating a preference.

However, the legacy issues that PF has to deal with, who by the way are inherent to most 3.5 clones, I feel need and should be addressed. So I have been wondering what to do with the issue of magic. You probably know what I am talking about: The Goddamned Batman wizards and magic classes, the need for gishes and the complains about the poor, poor fighter.

Again, I have heard nice and reasoned arguments why this should be so. Again, I respectfully disagree, though you may enjoy the game any way you like. If you like that way, read no further. If you don’t though, let us continue the (one sided so far) discussion.

The old man start his futile attempt to make a point