PDA

View Full Version : X-Rebirth is OUT!!!!!!!

Jonzac
2013-11-15, 10:55 AM
I'm so excited for this game. I've been a fan of the X-series of games for years. In fact I have a X3-AP game of pure piratery (ala Squiddy McSquid fanfic fame) that has been exhilerating. I've never tried a "bad boy" type game in X3 before and its been a lot of fun.

I've played the trader and kept my fight rank at harmless, amassing enough money to do whatever I wanted while I finished the plots. I've done a anti-pirate conglomerate...heck I've even played commerce raider for the Terrans (much like pirating only not as much fun to role-play).

Can't wait to get home and fire up Steam to give it a whirl.

Any one else play?

factotum
2013-11-15, 02:33 PM
Yes...and it's probably the most disappointing thing I've played in many a long year. Couldn't get it to work with my joystick so I switched to an XBox controller, have played it for less than an hour and my left hand is already starting to cramp. May try it with mouse and keyboard to see if at least *one* of the available control methods works properly, but not holding out much hope at this stage.

Jonzac
2013-11-15, 03:01 PM
Well I haven't used a joystick since X2 the threat so I can't imagine that would be an issue for me. I'm a keyboard and mouse kind of guy.

Other than the controller, hows the rest of it?

Aotrs Commander
2013-11-16, 07:04 PM
Not that it particularly matters at the immediate moment - since I need to replace my joystick and having (to an unfortunate series of events) had to spend £240+temporarily £110 on a new graphics card (for future proofing Squadron 42/Star Citizen because my graphics card abruptly failed) and so that ain't happening this year - but is it completely a sort of Elite-clone or does it have any military TIE Fighter/Freespace 2 mission-y campaigns to it?

Volatar
2013-11-16, 07:58 PM
It's buggy as all else but man am I having a blast.

factotum
2013-11-17, 02:31 AM