PDA

View Full Version : Large Greatsword

Stormcrow
2007-01-10, 08:14 PM
Had it raised in a group i DM what are peoples oppinions on;

The length, breadth and weight of a Large Sized Greatsword?

Krimm_Blackleaf
2007-01-10, 08:15 PM
Well, not to get technical, but greatswords are technically large.....but I know you mean a greatsword designed for a large-sized creature. And I'm pretty sure it's supposed to be all just the double of a regular one.

Shhalahr Windrider
2007-01-10, 08:18 PM
Weight: This column gives the weight of a Medium version of the weapon. Halve this number for Small weapons and double it for Large weapons.
A Medium Greatsword is 8 lbs. Therefore, a Large Greatsword is 16 lbs.

I'm no weapons expert, so I can't say anything about the other values. :smallfrown:

RandomNPC
2007-01-10, 08:23 PM
lets say, big, by wide, by humungorous.

i don't really know, i'd say it should be a reach weapon you can use to attack adjacent foes with.

Zincorium
2007-01-10, 08:29 PM
lets say, big, by wide, by humungorous.

i don't really know, i'd say it should be a reach weapon you can use to attack adjacent foes with.

Large creatures already have that reach, which while not entirely realistic is the simple way that WotC has decided to go. Theoretically, reach for most weapons would vary considerably. You just can't reliably slash at someone with a dagger at the same distance you can with a longsword, and many polearms have wildly varying length and thus reach.

Anyway, as far as the OP goes, it'd be around 23% larger than a normal greatsword to retain proportional dimensions and weigh twice as much. That's long, but not really as long as you seem to be thinking.

Matthew
2007-01-10, 08:31 PM
Great Swords are probably meant to represent Two Handed Swords.

You can read about how huge they are here:

http://www.thearma.org/essays/2HGS.html

Fax Celestis
2007-01-10, 08:32 PM
Ever play Final Fantasy VII? Yeah, like that.

Stormcrow
2007-01-10, 08:46 PM