PDA

View Full Version : M&M Immunity to Damaging Effects

Joval
2013-11-20, 03:59 PM
So I have this brand new campaign, and I am trying to teach the players, from the very beginning, that games aren't just hack and slash, and that that strategy is needed.

For this, the first opponent they face off with is a Adamantine Golem type thing. It's a construct, and it has immunity to damaging effects. This left nothing but containing it. The team speedster wound up doing a knockback attack (Move Object), then the team mage decided to freeze it solid, as if it were the Evil T-1000, and finally the team earth bender caved in the ground around it, and slammed the ground shut around it, shattering it fairly well.

I thought it was super creative, so I let them have it, but I think I did it wrong. As I am still fairly new to the game, I wanted some input.

The Flash Freeze was the power we modeled it after, with Alternate Resistance (Dodge), and it seemed fairly straight forward after that. It reduces Toughness. With that in mind, I wasn't sure how to weaken it from the "Immune" rank.

That's where my question is. The power the Golem had was "Immunity to Damaging Effects", not Immunity to "Toughness Effects" so I figured it was okay to do. I didn't know what to reduce it from, since the rank was "Immune", so I just used the Power Level +1 as the stat that it had to be reduced from.

Is that reasonable, or should I have handled it differently?

Beleriphon
2013-11-20, 05:13 PM
So I have this brand new campaign, and I am trying to teach the players, from the very beginning, that games aren't just hack and slash, and that that strategy is needed.