PDA

View Full Version : Magic Items as building security?

ironcladfolly
2013-11-21, 10:33 PM
I've been running a campaign for a few years now from published sources, but I've decided to write things from scratch from here on.

In my upcoming adventure, I plan to have the players be thrown into prison, and require them to find their way out. I don't want to be too restrictive on what they can and can't do, but I also don't want the casters to be able to simply blast their way out, or use some other spell to break out. And realistically, I'd expect the prison guards would have thought of this too.

So what I'm wondering is this: is it possible to have a magic item that produces an ongoing effect —*in this case, Antimagic Field —*that can be "switched on or off" by the guards? I think it would be a fun and rewarding puzzle for the players to have to figure out why they can't cast spells, and have to destroy the item to get their powers back, so to speak.

holywhippet
2013-11-21, 10:39 PM
You just make the prison uniform this: http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/cursedItems.htm#robeofPowerlessness

Mnemnosyne
2013-11-21, 10:49 PM
There isn't, to my knowledge, a printed item like this, but it's certainly reasonable to create one.

Antimagic field is normally a 10 ft. radius, which means a 20 ft. diameter sphere. Prison cells don't need to be particularly spacious, so if each prison cell is only 5 ft. wide and 5 ft. deep, a properly designed antimagic prison might be able to take advantage of a considerable amount of that area. The bigger problem is antimagic field is an emanation and blocked by removing line of effect, and if the prisoners have line of effect to the item generating the field, it's logical for them to quickly discern that it's doing so and then try to attack it through mundane means.