PDA

View Full Version : Help for a new player with an archery ranger

Sugarbear007
2013-12-03, 01:50 AM
Howdy all. :P

I am new to D&D and I started with a group not to long ago. I invited a friend who is also new to D&D. I'm trying to help and though I know more than he does, and I read a lot it’s not saying much. He wants to have a ranger. He wants a grizzled manly woodsman kind of guy so he’s picked a human character. He likes the idea of having some spells. He also wants the character to be an archer. I was under the impression that they were kind of on the cruddy side.

I showed him the swift hunter feat and he’s ok with taking some scout levels for the skirmish damage and being able to hit skirmish on things immune to critical hits if their a favored enemy. He’d prefer to do sneaking damage like a rogue. I know there is a spell (sniper shots I believe) that allows a long range sneak attack, but I think it’s just a single shot, not the volleys of arrows he’d like, not to mention I don’t think there is a feat like swift hunter that combines ranger / rogue stuff.

His character hates mages, as they’ve wronged him in the past (typical vengeance backstory for fantasy you know how it goes). I mentioned that I read something about an alternate class feature that gives you archanists as a favored enemy, though I can’t remember where I saw it.

He got some great dice rolls 15, 15, 15, 14, 17, 17 to work with.

So let me get right down to it.

The game is set in the forgotten realms.

The only base classes allowed by our DM are those listed in PHB2.

Prestige classes can be anything so long as it fits with the characters story. He’s creative so that should be fine either way.

Our DM is allowing two classes for multiclassing before an experience penalty. If you use a favored class its three.

Feats, Alternate class features, and gear enchantments can be from any 3.5 book.