PDA

View Full Version : PbP Question

Synvallius
2013-12-03, 06:18 PM
I'm thinking of starting a new campaign using the PbP "feature" and since it would be my first time of doing so, I'm wondering if any other DMs who have run or are running a campaign on PbP have any tips for what specifically be prepared for by the DM (e.g. is it of any great importance to prepare entire maps of worlds and dungeons or can I go without? And other questions of that variety). Essentially, if any would care to relate what they have done in the past that has been of help to them when running their campaigns, it would be a great help. (Also, to be specific, I'm planning on running a rules light 3.5 campaign, if you need to know the rules system or whatever that I would be using, in order to relate necessary or useful information).

CockroachTeaParty
2013-12-03, 07:02 PM
You seek to walk a dark path, Synvallius.

PBP is perhaps the worst way to play D&D in existence.

I have been playing PBP D&D since 2006, and the only reason I continue to do so is because I am an addict in need of serious help. I love to play D&D, such that PBP calls to me with its siren promises of 'always having a game,' one that you can play here and there as long as you have access to an internet connection.

Do not be fooled. It is a foul quagmire of undelivered promises, agonizing slowness, miscommunication, absent accountability, and unrealistic expectations.

My best advice to you is to abandon this project now, while you still have your dignity.

If you persist, if you take my warnings as the ramblings of a cantankerous fool, then the best advice I can give you is this: