PDA

View Full Version : Mandela

dehro
2013-12-06, 03:56 AM
http://www.news.gov.tt/sites/default/files/styles/article_preset/public/Nelson%20Mandela%203.jpg?itok=_jDGhZQP

Socratov
2013-12-06, 06:32 AM
someone said that Mandela was not only a great man, he is actually the only politician the world will truly miss. And he is right. If only more Nelson Mandelas existed in politics.

Killer Angel
2013-12-06, 06:57 AM
The man was truly a Giant.
R.I.P.

Dal
2013-12-06, 07:15 AM
I've never written a eulogy before, but I will try...

The world has lost a great man. A man who fought for freedom while sacrificing his very own, and despite enduring intense setbacks and hardships, he finally made it after nearly thirty years. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_African_general_election,_1994)
He never bowed to the excesses of corruption, a rare quality in the politicians and statesmen of today.
Even out of office, his influence has remained strong. He continued to fight for the freedom of other oppressed people throughout the world.
Even in death, his message will still resonate to all, at home and abroad.
May his soul find rest in the heavens above.

IN MEMORIAM
NELSON ROLIHLAHLA MANDELA
7/16/1918 - 12/5/2013

Palanan
2013-12-06, 08:14 AM
Originally Posted by Socratov
...someone said that Mandela was not only a great man, he is actually the only politician the world will truly miss.

I hadn't heard this, but it's very true.

The fact that he stepped down after only one term as president is amazing. Given his stature and popularity, he could easily have made it a lifetime appointment, as so many of his far-lesser colleagues elsewhere on the continent have done. Instead he chose integrity and moral example.

My country has a lot to learn from Nelson Mandela.

Fates
2013-12-06, 05:21 PM