PDA

View Full Version : Running a con game

Talakeal
2013-12-12, 01:26 PM
So I plan to release the indie RPG I have been working on for the last several years within the next few months, and over the summer I hope to run a few demo games at various cons.

The problem is I have never run (or even played in) a con game before in my whole life. Does anyone have any advice?

I am specifically wondering how much material to plan due to the time limit and the variable pace of groups, as well as what sort of "adventure" to plan. Should it be a dungeon crawl, skirmish battle, high RP, investigation, exploration, etc.? Groups have such divergent tastes how do I know what to expect?

huttj509
2013-12-12, 01:51 PM
So I plan to release the indie RPG I have been working on for the last several years within the next few months, and over the summer I hope to run a few demo games at various cons.

The problem is I have never run (or even played in) a con game before in my whole life. Does anyone have any advice?

I am specifically wondering how much material to plan due to the time limit and the variable pace of groups, as well as what sort of "adventure" to plan. Should it be a dungeon crawl, skirmish battle, high RP, investigation, exploration, etc.? Groups have such divergent tastes how do I know what to expect?

It depends on the focus of the system. Since it's a new RPG system, you want the scenario to highlight "this is what the system focuses on."

As an example, various con games I did in the last year:

Introductory module with some combat, mainly focused on introducing the factions and setting (Pathfinder Society)

Introductory adventure with premade characters, involving inter-clan politics, talking with spirits, and one-two combat encounters (Legend of the 5 rings)