PDA

View Full Version : Mutants and Masterminds 3e "Quantum Bubble" Power

wirehound
2013-12-18, 12:02 PM
It's my first time building a hero for M&M 3e, and I'd appreciate some advice or suggestions regarding how to structure a particular power:

Our hero can create "quantum bubbles" to various effect. They manifest as a perfectly spherical soap bubble, but are much tougher than they look.

The bubbles have 4 main functions:

1. Shield our hero (and optionally nearby allies).

2. Shield another person or person(s) at a distance.

3. Capture an opponent inside a bubble.

4. Allow our hero to float or fly while in a bubble.

5. Allow anyone within the bubble to become invisible to those outside.

6. Protect anyone in a bubble from environmental hazards.

My first instinct is to use the Create effect and make the bubbles actual physical objects. E.g. Quantum Bubble: Create 15, Impervious, Movable, Stationary, Limited: Only Hollow Spheres. 46 Points

Then add Flight 4 (30mph) and Concealment 2 (Visual, Affects Others, Increased Range 2: perception, Shapeable Area 10). Both of these only work when enclosed in a bubble.

Building the power this way brings up a few questions:

1. How is the volume of the Create effect calculated? Is it the volume of "stuff" created, or the volume enclosed by the "stuff". For example, a solid sphere 8ft across is 268 cu. ft. A hollow sphere 8 ft across and 1" thick is only 17 cu. ft. of "stuff", but it encloses the same 268 cu. ft.

2. How many bubbles can our hero create at once? This isn't specifically addressed in the Create effect. Create 15 gives a maximum volume of 32,000 cu. ft. Does that mean one can create multiple objects up to that maximum volume, or only one at a time? Would multiple objects require the Continuous modifier?

3. How to handle requiring a bubble for Flight and Concealment? This doesn't seem like enough of a drawback for the Limited flaw. Perhaps a Quirk like Quirk: Only Inside Quantum Bubble.