PDA

View Full Version : Tips for an angelic/afterlife themed game world?

Resident Fool
2013-12-30, 04:19 PM
Didn't know whether to put this in general roleplaying or homebrew, since I'm more asking for general advice rather than putting up actual finished homebrew for critique and tweaking... This seemed like the better fit I suppose. Let me know if this should be moved.

So I've recently been thinking of trying a fairly large project, at least for me. I had an idea for a campaign that takes place after the PCs die and they are thrown into the middle of a growing war between heaven and hell, struggling as refugees of sort at first as they try to survive.

Problem was, my experiences with 3.5 and pathfinder make me feel like it would be difficult to really capture the feel that I want, and that I'd have to do a lot of tinkering or re-writing to really get it down. Since I have no real experience with homebrew, I was hoping that the playground might be able to point me in some good places to start with.

One big thing that I want to do is to be able to have each class contribute with their own unique and powerful abilities - for that, I think I'll have to read, and then borrow heavily from, book of nine swords. Also, I'd like to have combats, at all levels, feel a lot less like rocket launcher tag - possibly buffing up total HPs, and changing numbers around here or there. And less, or more limited, save or dies and the like.

Along with changing the numbers around, I'd like to make in-combat healing an actual useful thing. For an angelic themed campaign, I like the idea of someone playing an angel of mercy keeping everyone on their feet through extended boss battles. That can be done with adding more effective multi-target heals, and swift action heals, etc.