PDA

View Full Version : Consequences of this illusion

G.Cube
2014-01-08, 10:07 AM
In a dungeon crawl I am currently running, I am thinking of having an illusion triggered by something (specifics haven't been worked out yet) where the room fills with blood and they believe they are going to drown in it.

Being a new DM, I've never tried an illusion before, so I have a couple questions.

What happens If they fail their save and believe it's real, and fail to accomplish the goal to prevent the room from filling up to the ceiling?

What happens if some of the group makes their save and the others don't? Can the others calm those who fail down? How would that work out? Would the ones who fail be so panic stricken that they wouldn't even notice the other members not believing?

Diarmuid
2014-01-08, 10:13 AM
Saving Throws and Illusions (Disbelief ): Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.
A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.
A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isn't real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus.

G.Cube
2014-01-08, 10:19 AM
Saving Throws and Illusions (Disbelief ): Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.
A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.