PDA

View Full Version : Advice?

UristMcRandom
2014-01-09, 08:30 PM
Hello all, I'm new to the forums, but I've been reading OotS for a while now, and I figured this was as good of a place to ask this as any.

I'm relatively new to the field of pen-and-paper RPGs, and I am seeking to create my own system. Nothing too complicated or for commercial use, just for private use in my own groups.

I've got a general idea in my head of how I want things to work, but as I said I'm new to tabletop RPGs and I'm worried about balance. I've done research on things such as stat assignments, but I can't seem to get my own system to balance out. I keep rolling up characters with fairly horrible stats, not to mention I can't find any good resources on ideas for how race and class should affect statistic assignment and skills. If anyone could point me in the direction of such a thing, or has any advice to offer, I would appreciate it.

I can provide more information as needed, just attempting to keep this fairly brief.

Thanks in advance,
Urist McRandom

Grod_The_Giant
2014-01-09, 08:42 PM
Particularly given that you're new to the hobby, is there a reason you want to design your own system, rather than use a pre-existing one?

UristMcRandom
2014-01-09, 08:47 PM
My goal is to avoid magic as much as possible, as well as things such as demons or fiends. If you could recommend a system that is at least close to that then I should be able to skip the step of creating a system and start on finding/making a setting.

Grinner
2014-01-09, 08:50 PM
My goal is to avoid magic as much as possible, as well as things such as demons or fiends. If you could recommend a system that is at least close to that then I should be able to skip the step of creating a system and start on finding/making a setting.

I can point you towards a couple of systems, but have you ever played an RPG? Some RPGs are more complex than others, and it's difficult to know where the line is if you've never played.